General Information










School Flyer




  • Student - £120
  • Non-Student - £160




    PowerMEMS School


    We are pleased to announce the inaugural PowerMEMS School to be held in conjunction with the PowerMEMS conference.  This two-day school will cover a wide range of power-MEMS topics including technologies for power generation, power transmission, energy storage, power electronics interfaces and metrology. World leading experts will give invited lectures on each topic.  The wide coverage offered by the school will be ideal for PhD candidates, newcomers to the field, and practitioners or researchers in the field that want to broaden their knowledge.  Each lecture will have a somewhat tutorial character while also giving a taste of the state of the art on the topic. The school will be held December 2-3 at Imperial College London.




    School Fees include lunch on both days.


    Student - £120


    Non-Student - £160


    School co-chairs:


    Professor Einar Halvorsen, Vestfold University College, Norway


    Dr Shad Roundy, University of Utah, USA



    Preliminary program: 


    Monday 2nd December
    Time Topic Confirmed Speakers
    8:00 - 8:30 Registration
    8:30 - 8:45 Introduction Einar Halvorsen/Shad Roundy
    8:45 - 9:30 PowerMEMS - Overview Eric Yeatman Imperial College London
    9:30 - 10:25 Thermoelectric Energy Harvesting Douglas Paul University of Glasglow
    10:35 - 11:20 MEMS Turbines and Heat Engines Luc Fréchette University of Sherbrooke
    11:30 - 12:15 RF-energy Harvesting and Power Transfer Huib Visser Holst Center, IMEC
    12:15 - 13:30 Lunch
    13:30 - 14:15 Micro- and Bio Fuel Cells Sven Kerzenmacher University of Freiburg
    14:25 - 15:10 Micro Batteries Robert Hahn Fraunhofer IZM
    15:20 - 16:05 MEMS Supercapacitors Xuyuan Chen Vestfold university College
    16:15 - 17:00 Inductive Power Transfer Josh Smith University of Washington


    Tuesday 3rd December
    Time Topic Confirmed Speakers
    8:25 - 8:30 Announcements Einar Halvorsen/Shad Roundy
    8:30 - 9:15 Electrostatic Vibration Energy Harvesting Yuji Suzuki University of Tokyo
    9:25 - 10:10 Piezoelectric Vibration Energy Harvesting Daniel Inman University of Michigan
    10:20 - 11:05 Microfabrication and Film Deposition Paul Muralt EPFL
    11:15 - 12:00 Fundamentals of Flow Energy Harvesting Mohammed Daqaq Clemson University
    12:00 - 13:15 Lunch
    13:15 - 14:00 Electrodynamic Vibration Energy Harvesting David Arnold University of Florida
    14:10 - 14:55 Energy-harvesting Integrated Circuits Gabriel Rincón-Mora Georgia Institute of Technology
    15:05 - 15:50 Energy Harvesting Metrology Paul Weaver National Physical Laboratory, UK
    15:50 - 16:00 Closing remarks Einar Halvorsen/Shad Roundy



    Sponsored by an EPSRC impact acceleration award.